There is quite a few unique letterboxes on the old buildings around the Jewellery Quarter. Mostly on buildings built in the Victorian period. Many are semi circles, with LETTERS written at the bottom. Most of these photos in the post below were taken by Elliott between 2009 and 2013, so nothing recent.

View feature View community

Old Victorian letterboxes around the Jewellery Quarter





There is quite a few unique letterboxes on the old buildings around the Jewellery Quarter. Mostly on buildings built in the Victorian period. Many are semi circles, with LETTERS written at the bottom. Most of these photos in the post below were taken by Elliott between 2009 and 2013, so nothing recent.


 

Happy New Year 2021! 

Vittoria Street

A pair of letterboxes at 85, 87 and 87a Vittoria Street in the Jewellery Quarter. Seen in late November 2009.

This black one with LETTERS at the bottom is located to the right of the door at 85 and 87 Vittoria Street. It was a purpose built brickworks dating to 1870.

dndimg alt="Letterboxes Vittoria St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Vittoria St (Nov 2009) (1).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

Further to the left is this rectangular letterbox with LETTERS written in the middle. I'd say that this is at 89 Vittoria Street.

dndimg alt="Letterboxes Vittoria St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Vittoria St (Nov 2009) (2).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

The next one is at the Unity Works at 36 - 46 Vittoria Street. The letterbox was for Henry Jenkins & Sons Ltd (their registered offices). Also Masefield & Co and Beverley Hall Ltd. It was built in 1865 as a toolmaker works. The architect was J P Osborne for  Henry Jenkins and Son.

dndimg alt="Letterboxes Vittoria St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Vittoria St (Nov 2009) (3).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

 

Caroline Street

Seen on New Years Day, 1st January 2013 was this letterbox on Caroline Street at what was the Registered Offices of Pickering & Mayell Limited. At the Reliance Works at 42 Caroline Street. Was a Manufactory built in the early 19th Century. With workshops to the rear.

dndimg alt="JQ letterbox Caroline St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Caroline St (Jan 2013).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

Vyse Street

This letterbox was originally for H. Aston Ltd, but this building on Vyse Street is now the Museum of the Jewellery Quarter. Formerly two jewellery manufactories. 75 Vyse Street was built in 1909 by George E. Pepper for F. Moore. While 77 Vyse Street was built in 1914, also by Pepper. 79 Vyse Street was replaced in 1990. The site was converted into a museum in 1999.

dndimg alt="JQ letterbox Vyse St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Vyse St (Jan 2013).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

Spencer Street

Three letterboxes on Spencer Street in the Jewellery Quarter. The first one was originally for T. Hirschfeld.

dndimg alt="JQ letterbox Spencer St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Spencer St (Jan 2013) (1).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

The next blue one, the name had been painted over.

dndimg alt="JQ letterbox Spencer St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Spencer St (Jan 2013) (2).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

One more painted in black. If it had a name at the top, it was painted over so was unreadable.

dndimg alt="JQ letterbox Spencer St" dndsrc="../uploadedfiles/JQ letterbox Spencer St (Jan 2013) (3).JPG" style="width: 100%;" />

Photos taken by Elliott Brown. Can be found on Twitter: ellrbrown